Our Team

Elizabeth Torres

Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Co-Founder

Elizabeth has extensive teaching, administration, and education policy experience. She began her career in education as a DC Teaching Fellow in DCPS where she taught special education reading and mathematics. She then served on the administrative team of a specialty Title I DCPS/Big Picture Learning secondary school. In this role, she oversaw special education administration and compliance. Elizabeth was recognized by DCPS as the top special education administrator for the 2008-2009 school year. Since 2009, Elizabeth has also taught courses in education policy at The George Washington University to teachers and administrators throughout the DC area. Prior to founding Washington Global, Elizabeth was a Program Specialist at the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services where she focused her work on K-12 and higher education special education policy and performance management. Elizabeth holds an Ed.D. in Neuroscience and Special Education from The George Washington University where she was a 2009-2010 Dean’s Merit Scholar, an M.A. in Transition Special Education from The George Washington University, and a B.A. in History from Vassar College. Elizabeth also studied History at the University of Oxford in Oxford, England.

 

Howard Mebane

Principal

Howard is an experienced educator who has experience at the primary and secondary school levels. Prior to joining Washington Global in 2014 as its Chief Student Affairs Officer, Howard taught in the District of Columbia Public Schools (DCPS) for approximately ten years at the elementary, middle school, and high school levels. Most recently he served as a lead teacher at a DCPS/Big Picture Learning, Title I high school. Additionally, Howard has held lead roles on student support teams, school restructuring teams, and community outreach groups. Howard holds a B.S. from Virginia State University, a M.S. from Walden University in Education and Teacher Leadership, and also has completed graduate work in education at The University of Maryland and Trinity College. Most recently, Howard completed a Nonprofit Management Executive Certificate Program at Georgetown University.

Suzanne Brooks

Director of Specialized Programs

She has managed and developed programs for students with Individualized Education Program (IEPs) at the middle school and secondary levels for several years. Suzanne’s experience includes teaching exceptional students within various settings; as well as working with parents and other stakeholders to develop a collaborative team approach. Since 2009, she has worked within local school systems, including Montgomery County Public Schools, Private Day Schools for Students with Emotional and Behavioral Disorders, and D.C, Charter Schools. Suzanne is a 2013 graduate of the The George Washington University, where she received her Master’s in Special Education for Children with Emotional and Behavioral Disorders. She obtained her Bachelor’s Degree in Finance from Howard University. During Summer 2016, Suzanne was selected to participate in the Multi-State Alternative Assessment Content Bias and Review Meeting in Nashville, TN.

Omolara Magassouba

Director of Intervention

Omolara Magassouba is the Director of Intervention. She has been an educator in the District of Columbia Public Schools and Charter Schools for over 20 years with experience teaching second and third grade. In addition to teaching, Mrs. Magassouba was an Instructional coach for several years with a focus on K-8th grade teachers and an Assistant Principal for over 10 years in the Elementary and Middle School setting.Mrs. Magassouba attended Bowie State University where she earned a Bachelors of Science in Social work and Trinity University where she earned a Masters of Science in Educational Administration. She also holds professional educator certifications in Educational Leadership (All Levels) and Elementary Education (K-6).

Paul Lombardi

Instructional Coach

Paul Lombardi serves as Washington Global’s Instructional Coach, supporting the school in all facets of academics, including curriculum design and implementation, coaching and feedback, and data and assessment. He teaches ELA and writing classes, serves as an SST member, and helps maintain a variety of school-level systems. Before joining Global, Paul taught in classrooms in Washington, DC, New Orleans, LA, and Boston, MA. Paul loves that Washington Global is open to all DC students, regardless of background or circumstance, and that the school provides focused support for students at every academic level.

Contact List

Leadership

Name Title Contact
Elizabeth Torres, Ed.D. Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder eltorres@washingtonglobal.org
Howard Mebane Principal hmebane@washingtonglobal.org
Suzanne Brooks Director of Specialized Programs sbrooks@washingtonglobal.org

Business and Operations

Name Title Contact
Lynell Gray Business and Facilities Manager lgray@washingtonglobal.org
Diana Gabriel HR and Operations Manager hr@washingtonglobal.org

Student and Teacher Support

Name Title
Malene Kambon Dean of School Culture mkambon@washingtonglobal.org
Dale Vidaurre Assistant Dean of Students dvidaurre@washingtonglobal.org
Taneeka Jackson Social Worker tjackson@washingtonglobal.org
Paul Lombardi Instructional Coach plombardi@washingtonglobal.org
Maira Abasto Spanish Teacher mabasto@washingtonglobal.org
Deloreis Berry Math Teacher dberry@washingtonglobal.org
Dr. Deborah Boroughs SPED Teacher dboroughs@washingtonglobal.org
D’Vore Brittingham Special Education Teacher dbrittingham@washingtonglobal.org
Matias Brocato Spanish Teacher mbrocato@washingtonglobal.org
QuenChelle Brown Special Education Aide qbrown@washingtonglobal.org
Shaquita Curtis Paraprofessional scurtis@washingtonglobal.org
Greg Hill Health and PE Teacher ghill@washingtonglobal.org
Randall Hill ELA Teacher rhill@washingtonglobal.org
Janelle Jeter Social Studies Teacher/ School Placement Specialist jjeter@washingtonglobal.org
Freddy Loran Science Teacher floran@washingtonglobal.org
Victoria Makell Math/ SPED Teacher vmakell@washingtonglobal.org
Christian Polizzi Special Education Teacher cpolizzi@washingtonglobal.org
Kennieth Smith Math Teacher ksmith@washingtonglobal.org
Kweli Smith Art Teacher and Building Substitute kwelis@washingtonglobal.org
Paul Thistle Social Studies Teacher pthistle@washingtonglobal.org
Meaghan Thomas Science Teacher mthomas@washingtonglobal.org
Modestine Welch-Davis Instructional Specialist mdavis@washingtonglobal.org
Andrea White ELA Teacher awhite@washingtonglobal.org
Crystal Swann ELA Teacher cswann@washingtonglobal.org
Astarsia Young Global Citizenship Teacher ayoung@washingtonglobal.org