Our Team

Elizabeth Torres

Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Co-Founder

Elizabeth has extensive teaching, administration, and education policy experience. She began her career in education as a DC Teaching Fellow in DCPS where she taught special education reading and mathematics. She then served on the administrative team of a specialty Title I DCPS/Big Picture Learning secondary school. In this role, she oversaw special education administration and compliance. Elizabeth was recognized by DCPS as the top special education administrator for the 2008-2009 school year. Since 2009, Elizabeth has also taught courses in education policy at The George Washington University to teachers and administrators throughout the DC area. Prior to founding Washington Global, Elizabeth was a Program Specialist at the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services where she focused her work on K-12 and higher education special education policy and performance management. Elizabeth holds an Ed.D. in Neuroscience and Special Education from The George Washington University where she was a 2009-2010 Dean’s Merit Scholar, an M.A. in Transition Special Education from The George Washington University, and a B.A. in History from Vassar College. Elizabeth also studied History at the University of Oxford in Oxford, England.

 

Howard Mebane

Principal

Howard is an experienced educator who has experience at the primary and secondary school levels. Prior to joining Washington Global in 2014 as its Chief Student Affairs Officer, Howard taught in the District of Columbia Public Schools (DCPS) for approximately ten years at the elementary, middle school, and high school levels. Most recently he served as a lead teacher at a DCPS/Big Picture Learning, Title I high school. Additionally, Howard has held lead roles on student support teams, school restructuring teams, and community outreach groups. Howard holds a B.S. from Virginia State University, a M.S. from Walden University in Education and Teacher Leadership, and also has completed graduate work in education at The University of Maryland and Trinity College. Most recently, Howard completed a Nonprofit Management Executive Certificate Program at Georgetown University.

Suzanne Brooks

Director of Specialized Programs

She has managed and developed programs for students with Individualized Education Program (IEPs) at the middle school and secondary levels for several years. Suzanne’s experience includes teaching exceptional students within various settings; as well as working with parents and other stakeholders to develop a collaborative team approach. Since 2009, she has worked within local school systems, including Montgomery County Public Schools, Private Day Schools for Students with Emotional and Behavioral Disorders, and D.C, Charter Schools. Suzanne is a 2013 graduate of the The George Washington University, where she received her Master’s in Special Education for Children with Emotional and Behavioral Disorders. She obtained her Bachelor’s Degree in Finance from Howard University. During Summer 2016, Suzanne was selected to participate in the Multi-State Alternative Assessment Content Bias and Review Meeting in Nashville, TN.

Omolara Magassouba

Director of Intervention

Omolara Magassouba is the Director of Intervention. She has been an educator in the District of Columbia Public Schools and Charter Schools for over 20 years with experience teaching second and third grade. In addition to teaching, Mrs. Magassouba was an Instructional coach for several years with a focus on K-8th grade teachers and an Assistant Principal for over 10 years in the Elementary and Middle School setting.Mrs. Magassouba attended Bowie State University where she earned a Bachelors of Science in Social work and Trinity University where she earned a Masters of Science in Educational Administration. She also holds professional educator certifications in Educational Leadership (All Levels) and Elementary Education (K-6).

Modestine Davis

Instructional Coach

Modestine Davis serves as Washington Global’s Instructional Coach, supporting the school in all facets of academics, including curriculum design and implementation, coaching and feedback, and data and assessment. She teaches ELA and writing classes, serves as an SST member, and helps maintain a variety of school-level systems.

Contact List

Leadership

Name Title Contact
Elizabeth Torres, Ed.D. Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder eltorres@washingtonglobal.org
Howard Mebane Principal hmebane@washingtonglobal.org
Suzanne Brooks Director of Specialized Programs sbrooks@washingtonglobal.org

Business and Operations

Name Title Contact
Lynell Gray Business and Facilities Manager lgray@washingtonglobal.org
Diana Gabriel Director of Operations dgabriel@washingtonglobal.org

Student and Teacher Support

Name Title
Malene Kambon Dean of School Culture mkambon@washingtonglobal.org
Fredy Loran School Culture Coordinator floran@washingtonglobal.org
Taneeka Jackson Social Worker tjackson@washingtonglobal.org
Modestine Davis Instructional Coach mdavis@washingtonglobal.org
Maira Abasto Spanish Teacher mabasto@washingtonglobal.org
Shameka Abney Social Worker sabney@washingtonglobal.org
Briana Ani ELA Urban Teacher bani@washingtonglobal.org
Deloreis Berry 6th Grade Math Teacher dberry@washingtonglobal.org
D’Vore Brittingham Special Education Teacher dbrittingham@washingtonglobal.org
Matias Brocato 8th Grade Math Teacher/Academic Coordinator mbrocato@washingtonglobal.org
Douglas Crawford 8th Grade Social Studies Teacher dcrawford@washingtonglobal.org
Shaquita Curtis Paraprofessional scurtis@washingtonglobal.org
Kevin Johnson Special Education Teacher kjohnson@washingtonglobal.org
Torrey MacGregor Master ELA Teacher tmacgregor@washingtonglobal.org
Victoria Makell Special Education Teacher vmakell@washingtonglobal.org
Angela Moten Special Education Assistant Teacher/Aftercare Coordinator amoten@washingtonglobal.org
Jake Oster 6th/7th Science Teacher joster@washingtonglobal.org
Shannon Palka 7th Grade ELA Teacher spalka@washingtonglobal.org
Lucas Pereira Spanish Teacher lpereira@washingtonglobal.org
Christian Polizzi Special Education Teacher cpolizzi@washingtonglobal.org
Andre Priester Paraeducator apriester@washingtonglobal.org
Andrew Smith Math Urban Teacher asmith@washingtonglobal.org
Kennieth Smith 7th Grade Math Teacher ksmith@washingtonglobal.org
Crystal Swann Reading Teacher cswann@washingtonglobal.org
Paul Thistle 6th/7th Grade Social Studies Teacher pthistle@washingtonglobal.org
Meaghan Thomas 8th Grade Science Teacher mthomas@washingtonglobal.org
Dale Vidaurre Electives Teacher/Behavior Support dvidaurre@washingtonglobal.org
Andrea Whittner 6th Grade ELA Teacher awhite@washingtonglobal.org
Astarsia Young Global Citizenship Teacher ayoung@washingtonglobal.org

 

To find some of our staff policies and procedures, you can find a summary of our policies here.

Important Contacts at Washington Global

Title IX Coordinator: Howard Mebane, Principal, hmebane@washingtonglobal.org

McKinney-Vento Homeless Coordinator: Lynell Gray, Business & Facilities Manager, lgray@washingtonglobal.org

Special Education Point-of-Contact: Suzanne Brooks, Director of Specialized Programs, sbrooks@washingtonglobal.org